Maurice Daumas Prize

The Maurice Daumas Prize for papers on the history of technology is sponsored by the Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France, and consists of 500 Euro. Each year the prize-winning article is presented and discussed at a special session of the ICOHTEC symposium immediately following the award. An additional 300 Euro is available to the winner in support of traveling to the conference to receive the prize. The prize aims to encourage innovative scholarship in the history of technology. ICOHTEC is interested in the history of technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

The prize will be awarded to the author of the best article submitted which deals with the history of technology in any period of the past or in any part of the world and which was published in a journal or edited volume in last two consequent years. Eligible for the prize are original articles published in (or later translated into) any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish). Submissions are welcomed from scholars of any country who are currently in graduate school or have received their doctorate within the last seven years.

Call for submissions 2019

ICOHTEC, welcomes submissions for the Maurice Daumas Prize for 2019. Eligible for the prize are original articles published in 2017 or 2018.

Please send your submission and a brief (not to exceed one-page) cv to each of the six Prize Committee members no later than 15 January 2019. Electronic submissions are preferred. The winner will be contacted in late April 2019.

The prize will be awarded at our 46th Symposium, to be held in Katowice, Poland, in summer 2019 (22-27 July 2019). The winner will receive a cash prize of Euro 500 as well as a travel grant up to 300 Euro (if needed) to attend the ICOHTEC Symposium, which will feature a special panel organized around the winning article.


Maria Elvira Callapez, PI. Dr., [Prize Committee Chairperson],
CIUHCT, Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal

Antoni Roca-Rosell, Dr.
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Barcelona, Catalunya, Spain

 Eike-Christian Heine, Dr.
Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany

 Laurent Heyberger, Dr.
Université de technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France

Liliia Zemnukhova, PhD
Sociological Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences (SI RAN), St. Petersburg,
Russian Federation

Lino Camprubí, Dr.
Universidad de Sevilla, Facultad de Filosofía, Spain

The list of winners in previous editions


The call for submissions is announced on this page usually in October of each year, with the deadline for submissions set to following mid-January. The winner is announced early May to give a ample time for arranging travel  to pick up the price at our annual symposium, which usually takes place in second half of July.