Turriano ICOHTEC Prize

NOTE: The call for submissions is announced here usually in October of each year, with the deadline for submissions set to following mid-January. The winner is announced early May to give a ample time for arranging travel  to pick up the prize at our annual symposium, which usually takes place in second half of July.

2020 Call for submissions

The Turriano ICOHTEC Prize is an Early Career Prize for Books on the history of technology, sponsored by the Juanelo Turriano Foundation and consists of 2,500 Euro. The prize-winning book will be presented and discussed at a special session of the next ICOHTEC symposium, in Eindhoven, The Netherlands, from 13 to 18 July 2020. An additional 500 Euro is available to the winner in support of travelling to the conference to receive the prize. ICOHTEC, the International Committee for the History of Technology, is interested in the history of technology, focusing on technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. The history of technology covers all periods of human history and all populated areas. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

Eligible for the prize are original book-length works in any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish) in the history of technology: published or unpublished Ph.D. dissertations or other monographs written by scholars in the early parts of their career. Articles and edited anthologies are not eligible. If the work is a Ph.D. thesis, it should have been accepted by your university in 2018 or 2019; if it is a published work, the year of publication should be 2018 or 2019.

For the ICOHTEC Prize 2020, please send an electronic copy (PDF or Word) of the work you wish to be considered for the prize to each of the four Prize Committee members. (Note: Hard copies are only accepted for published works not available electronically.) Your submission must be emailed no later than Saturday, 1 February 2020. Please also include an abstract of no more than a half-page in length. If your book is in Spanish or Russian, please also supply a summary in English, French or German of about 4,500 words. In that case, the prize committee will find additional members, who are familiar with the language in which your book is written.

The submission should be accompanied by a CV (indicating also the date of birth) and, if applicable, a list of publications. Applicants are free to add references or reviews of the work submitted.

Any materials sent to the prize committee will not be returned.

Send a complete application by email to each of the following Prize Committee members:


Prof. Ernst Homburg, Prize Committee Chairperson Maastricht University
Department of History
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
P.O. Box 616
6200MD Maastricht
The Netherlands

Dr. Irina Gouzevitch
Centre Maurice Halbwachs
École Normale Supérieure
48, boulevard Jourdan
75014 Paris

Prof. Per Lundin
Chalmers University of Technology
Div. of Science, Technology and Society
Dept. of Technology Management and Economics
SE – 412 96 Gothenburg

Dr. Darina Martykánová
Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
Departamento de Historia Contemporánea
Facultad de Filosofía y Letras
Campus de Cantoblanco
28049 – Madrid

Dr. Klaus Staubermann
ICOM Germany
In der Halde 1
14159 Berlin

2019 Prize winner

The winner of Turriano ICOHTEC Prize in 2019 is Maria Rikitianskaia for her dissertation European Radiotelegraphy and World War I: A Transnational Perspective, 1912 – 1927 defended at the Università della Svizzera italiana, Lugano, in October 2018. Read the Laudatio by the chair of the Prize Committee, Prof. Ernst Homburg.

Three other authors received a honorable mention:
Jaroslav Švelch, Gaming the Iron Curtain: How Teenagers and Amateurs in Communist Czechoslovakia Claimed the Medium of Computer Games (Cambridge, MA: The MIT Press, 2018.)
Pauline Lewis, Wired Ottomans: A Sociotechnical History of the Telegraph and the Modern Ottoman Empire, 1855-1911.PhD thesis, University of California, Los Angeles, December 2018.
Barbara BergerDer Gasbehälterals Bautypus. Baukonstruktionsgeschichte des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts. In England entwickelt, in Deutschland optimiert, weltweitverbreitet – gezeigt am Beispiel Italiens. PhD thesis, Technische Universität München, May 2018.

Past winners

2018 Lino Camprubi, Los ingenieros de Franco. Ciencia, catolicismo y Guerra Fría en el Estado franquista (Barcelona: Crítica, 2017).

Two other authors received a honorable mention:
Jonas van der Straeten, Transmitting development. Global networks and the development of local grids in the electrification of East Africa, 1906-1970. PhD thesis, Darmstadt 2017.
David López López and Marta Domènech Rodríguez, Tile vaults. Structural analysis and experimentation. 2nd Gustavino Biennal. Disputació de Barcelona 2017.

2017 : Brice CossartLes artilleurs et la Monarchie Catholique: Fondements technologiques et scientifiques d’un empire transocéanique (The Gunners and the Catholic Monarch War: Technology and Science in the Shaping of a Transoceanic Empire), defended at the European University Institute (Florence), in 2016 (not yet published).

2016 Vanessa Meikle Schulman, Work sights: The Visual Culture of Industry in Nineteenth-Century America, published by the University of Massachusetts Press, 2015.

2015 Karena KalmbachMeanings of a Disaster: The Contested ‘Truth’ about Chernobyl. British and French Chernobyl Debates and the Transnationality of Arguments and Actors, a dissertation completed in September 2014 at the European University Institute, Florence, Department of History and Civilization.

2014 Dora Vargha, Iron Curtain, Iron Lungs: Governing Polio in Cold War Hungary 1952-1963, a dissertation completed at Rutgers University in 2013, under the direction of Paul Hanebrink.

2013 Laura Ann Twagira, Women and Gender at the Office du Niger (Mali), dissertation defended at Rutgers University.

2012 Hermione Giffard, The development and production of turbojet aero-engines in Britain, Germany and the United States, 1936-1945, dissertation defended at Imperial College, University of London, in 2011 (not yet published)

2011Christopher Neumaier, Dieselautos in Deutschland und den USA, Zum Verhältnis von Technologie, Konsum und Politik, 1949 –2005 (Stuttgart, 2010).

2010 : Anne-Katrine EbertEin Ding der Nation? Das Fahrrad in Deutschland und den Niederlanden, 1880-1940: Eine vergleichende Konsumgeschichte, dissertation defended at the University of Bielefeld, Germany.

2009 : Anna StormHope and Rust: Reinterpreting the Industrial Place in the Late 20th Century (Stockholm: Royal Institute of Technology, 2008).