MAURICE DAUMAS PRIZE : Call for articles 2015

The International Committee for the History of Technology, ICOHTEC, welcomes submissions for the Maurice Daumas Prize, which aims to encourage innovative scholarship in the history of technology. ICOHTEC is interested in the history of technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

The prizewill be awarded to the author of the best article submitted which deals with the history of technology in any period of the past or in any part of the world and which was published in a journal or edited volume in 2013 or 2014. Eligible for the prize are original articles published in (or later translated into) any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish). Submissions are welcomed from scholars of any country who are currently in graduate school or have received their doctorate within the last seven years. Please send your submission and a brief (not to exceed one-page) cv to each of the five Prize Committee members no later than 12 January 2015. Electronic submissions are preferred. The winner will be contacted in late May 2015.

The prize will be awarded at our 42nd Symposium, to be held 16–21 August 2015 in Tel Aviv, Israel.  The winner will receive a cash prize of Euro 500 as well as a travel grant of Euro 300 (if needed) to attend the ICOHTEC Symposium, which will feature a special panel organized around the winning article. The Daumas Prize is sponsored by L’Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France.

Hermione Giffard, Dr., Chair.
University of Utrecht
The Netherlands


Andrew Butrica, Dr.,
Research Historians Group
Bethesda, MD  USA


Susan Schmidt Horning, Prof., Chair
St. John's University
Queens, NY 11439 USA

Pierre Lamard, Prof.
L’Université de Technologie
de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM) France

Stefan Poser, Dr.
Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg



Page updated: 19 October 2014