ICOHTEC Prize for Young Scholars 2012

Call for Monographs [download as PDF file]

The ICOHTEC Prize is sponsored by the Juanelo Turriano Foundation and consists of 3,000 Euro. The prize winning book will be presented and discussed at a special session of the next ICOHTEC symposium, July 2012 in Barcelona.

ICOHTEC, the International Committee for the History of Technology, is interested in the history of technology, focusing on technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. The history of technology covers all periods of human history and all populated areas. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

Eligible for the prize are original book-length works in any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish) in the history of technology: published or unpublished Ph.D. theses or other monographs written by scholars who, when applying for the prize, are not older than 37 years. Articles and edited anthologies are not eligible.

For the ICOHTEC Prize 2012, please send a copy of the work you wish to be con­sidered for the prize to each of the three Prize Committee members.  Your submissions must be postmarked no later than 23 January 2012. You may also submit an electronic version of the book or Ph.D. thesis by 24:00 o’clock of your local time on the same day. If your book is in Spanish or Russian, please also supply a summary in English, French or German of about 4500 words. In that case, the prize committee will find additional members, who are familiar with the language in which your book is written.

If the work is a PhD thesis, it should have been accepted by your university in 2010 or 2011; if it is a published work, the year of publication should be 2010 or 2011. The submission should be accompanied by a CV (indicating also the date of birth) and, if applicable, a list of publications. Applicants are free to add references or reviews on the work submitted.

Any materials sent to the prize committee will not be returned.

Send a complete application by regular mail services or by email to each of the following Prize Committee members:

Dick van Lente, Dr., Prize Committee Chairman
Faculty of History and Arts
Erasmus University Rotterdam
Postbox 1738
3000 DR Rotterdam
The Netherlands

E-mail: vanlente@eshcc.eur.nl

Robert Belot, Prof.
Directeur du Laboratoire RECITS (EA n°3897)
L’Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM)
90010 Belfort CEDEX

E-mail: robert.belot@utbm.fr

Thomas Zeller, Associate Prof.
Department of History
2115 Francis Scott Key Hall
College Park, Md. 20742-7315

E-mail: tzeller@umd.edu