ICON

The Journal of the International Committee for the History of Technology

Volume 28, Number 2, 2023

The views expressed in ICON are those of the individual contributors; they are not necessarily those of the Editor, the Officers of ICOHTEC, or of its Editorial Board.

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without the written permission in writing of ICOHTEC. Requests should be addressed to the Editor.

Front cover: Frontispiece of Le philosophe sans prétention (1775) by Louis-Guillaume de la Follie. The engraving by C. Boissel, https://www.flickr.com/photos/bibliodyssey/3224850192/sizes/o/, licensed under CC BY 2.0 DEED.

Copyright © 2023

The International Committee for the History of Technology

ISSN 1361-8113

Printed in Estonia

THE INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY (ICOHTEC)

ICOHTEC was formed in 1968. In 1993, the Constitution was amended to allow for individual membership. At the same time, it was decided to publish an annual journal which would help to promote the study of the history of technology on the broadest possible basis. Volume 1 of *ICON* was published in 1995.

Membership in ICOHTEC is open to individuals, organizations and institutions. Subscribing members receive *ICON* as well as a regular electronic newsletter. Individual subscribers have electronic access to back issues on the ICOHTEC website (www.icohtec.org). Applications for membership can be obtained at the ICOHTEC website (www.icohtec.org). Back numbers can be obtained by contacting the editor, editor@icohtec.org.

Submissions for consideration for publication and other queries should be sent to editor@icohtec.org. Articles in *ICON* are peer reviewed; book reviews and essays are commissioned. Detailed notes for contributors are available at http://www.icohtec.org/icon/guidelines-for-contributors/.

ICON is available through JSTOR. Articles appearing in this journal are abstracted and indexed by SCOPUS, America: History and Life, Current Abstracts, Francis, Historical Abstracts, PubMed and TOC Premier. It is also is listed in the European Reference Index for the Humanities.

THE INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY (ICOHTEC)

OFFICERS

President

Stefan Poser

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Karlsruhe, Germany

Vice President

Yoel Bergman

Kfar Saba, Israel

Secretary General

Nelson Arellano-Escudero

Universidad Academia de Humanismo

Cristiano

Santiago, Chile

Treasurer

Viktor Pal

University of Helsinki

Finland

EDITORIAL

Editor-in-Chief

Peeter Müürsepp

Tallinn University of Technology

Tallinn, Estonia

EDITORIAL BOARD

Hans-Joachim Braun

Helmut-Schmidt-Universität

Hamburg, Germany

Jan Hadlaw

York University

Toronto, Canada

Klaus Staubermann

German Port Museum

Hamburg, Germany

Jan Kunnas

KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Stockholm, Sweden

Tiago Saraiva

Drexel University

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Artemis Yagou

Deutsches Museum

Munich, Germany

Waqar Zaidi

Lahore University of Management Sciences

Lahore, Pakistan

PAST EDITORS

Hermione Giffard (2015-2022)

James C. Williams (2011–2015)

Mark Clark (2009-2011)

Alex Keller (1999-2008)

Graham Hollister-Short (1995-1998)

ICOHTEC'S PRIZES

Each year ICOHTEC awards two prizes: the Turriano-ICOHTEC Book Prize and the Maurice Daumas Prize at the organisation's symposium in the summer of each year. The first is for the best original book-length work in any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian, or Spanish) in the history of technology: this includes published or unpublished PhD dissertations or other monographs written by scholars who, when applying for the prize, are not older than thirty-seven years. The second prize recognizes the best article submitted which deals with the history of technology in any period of the past or in any part of the world and which was published in a journal or edited volume in the past two years.

The Turriano-ICOHTEC Book Prize

The 2022 Turriano-ICOHTEC Book Prize was awarded to Waqar L. Zaidi of Lahore University of Management Sciences, Pakistan, for the book titled *Technological Internationalism and World Order. Aviation, Atomic Energy, and the Search for International Peace, 1920–1950*, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2021. It is a great example of a thesis successfully transformed into a book.

The other winner is Sébastien Pautet with his PhD dissertation *Le défi chonois des Lumières. Savoirs techniques et économie politique en France au temps des circulations sino-européennes (XVIIe–XVIIIe siècle)*, defended at Paris Diderot University, France.

The jury also decided to grant the honorable mention to Duygu Yıldırım for her PhD dissertation *The Age of the Perplexed: Translating Nature and Bodies between the Ottoman Empire and Europe*, 1650–1730, defended at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy.

Maurice Daumas Prize

The Maurice Daumas Prize for 2022 was awarded jointly to Andrew M. A. Morris and Gemma Cirac-Claveras.

Gemma Cirac-Claveras won the Maurice Daumas Prize for 2022 for her article "Re-imagining the Space Age: Early Satellite Development from Earthly Fieldwork Practice," *Science as Culture* 31, no. 2 (2021): 163–86.

Dr Andrew Morris was granted the prize for his article "The Joint Labours of Ingenious Men": John Smeaton's Royal Society Network and the Eddystone Lighthouse," published in Centaurus: *An International Journal of the History of Science and Its Cultural Aspects* 63, no. 3 (August 2021): 513–31.