2011 Turriano ICOHTEC Prize

The Winner

In 2011 the ICOHTEC Prize for Young Scholars was awarded for the third time. The prize committee selected the monograph by Christopher Neumaier as the winner. His book is titled Dieselautos in Deutschland und den USA, Zum Verhältnis von Technologie, Konsum und Politik, 1949 –2005 (Stuttgart 2010) and it is based on a doctoral dissertation examined at the Munich University of Technology in 2008. The prize (3000 euro) was sponsored by Fundación Juanelo Turriano and it was passed to Neumaier at the banquet on 6 August 2011.

For the first time the Prize Committee (Dick van Lente, chair, Robert Belot and Thomas Zeller) organized two panel sessions ICOHTEC Prizes for Young Scholars – 2010 and 2011, where two prize winners Anne-Katrine Ebert and Neumaier discussed their books with panelists and members of the audience.

Call for Submissions

The ICOHTEC-Prize is sponsored by the Juanelo Turriano Foundation and consists of 3,000 Euro. ICOHTEC, the International Committee for the History of Technology, is interested in the history of technology focusing on technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. The history of technology covers all periods of human history and all populated areas. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

Eligible to the prize are original works in any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish) in the history of technology (published or unpublished Ph.D. theses or other monographs — no articles or edited anthologies) written by scholars who, when applying for the prize, are not older than 37 years.

For the ICOHTEC Prize 2011, please send a copy of the work you wish to be considered for the prize plus a 4500-word English summary of that work to each of the three Prize Committee members.

Your submissions must be postmarked not later than 24 January 2011.

If the work is a PhD thesis, it should have been accepted by your university in 2009 or 2010; if it is a published work, the year of publication should be 2009 or 2010. The submission should be accompanied by a CV (indicating also the date of birth) and, if applicable, a list of publications. Applicants are free to add references or reviews on the work submitted.

Send a complete application by regular mail services (not electronically) to each of the following Prize Committee members:

Dick van Lente, Dr., Prize Committee Chairman
Email: vanlente@fhk.eur.nl
Prinses Margrietlaan 7
3051 AM Rotterdam
The Netherlands

Robert Belot, Prof.
Email: robert.belot@utbm.fr
Directeur du Laboratoire RECITS (EA n°3897)

Thomas Zeller, Associate Prof.
Email: tzeller@umd.edu
University of Maryland
Department of History
2115 Francis Scott Key Hall
College Park, Md. 20742-7315